Window Dressing: Spectacular Costuming in MTV’s THE CITY

Posted on


I was just getting back into the blogging habit after my end of the semester/holiday sabbatical when, wouldn’t you know it, I gave birth. Right now my days are consumed with feedings, diaper changes, multiple loads of laundry and assuring the 3-year-old that despite all evidence to the contrary, she is still the center of the universe. Blogging is currently not a possibility.

The new pet human

However, I did finish up an article in early January which has just been published at Flow TV , the online journal of television and media studies. So this makes me feel like I’m still blogging even though all I’m doing is wiping poop off of my pet human’s rear end, which is more delightful than it sounds, I assure you. So until I am able to resume a more regular blogging schedule (i.e., when the pet human agrees to sleep for than 1 to 2 hours at a stretch), all I have to offer you is this article on MTV’s The City, “Window Dressing: Spectacular Costuming in MTV’s The City. Please feel free to leave a comment in the comment section and get some dialogue going. Also, big shout out to Devan Goldstein, who came up with the title for this piece. Thanks Devan!

I should add that the current issue of FlowTV is filled with lots of interesting articles — while you’re there, check ’em out!

4 thoughts on “Window Dressing: Spectacular Costuming in MTV’s THE CITY

    Devan said:
    January 22, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks for the propers! Glad to help.

      princesscowboy responded:
      January 23, 2010 at 11:46 am

      You the man!

    Elana Levine said:
    January 22, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Love your Flow column. Totally agree that the fashion plays this central role in the narrative. The show is so much improved since it abandoned the effort at the interpersonal/relationship drama of The Hills and began to tell a story through clothes.

    I was all impressed that you had written this so soon after giving birth, but sounds like you got it done just before. In any case, congrats on the new pet human! He looks like he is a thriving baby–seems so big. We’re at the 9 week mark now and still pretty consumed by feedings and diaper changes and laundry . . .

    princesscowboy responded:
    January 23, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Thanks Elana! The laundry is pretty unreal–mountains and mountains of laundry…

Leave a comment